California Workers’ Comp Insurance provides coverage for costs of medical and rehabilitation and employee lost wages due to injury at work, and more. It is a compulsory insurance for workers, legally required in all states in the United States. Most states require employers to purchase a workers’ compensation insurance for their employees, for any injuries caused during or at work or problems causes due to workplace exposures. It is compulsory for both big and small businesses.
It is compulsory for both big and small businesses.
California, like all states, requires that businesses have some form of Workers’ Compensation insurance.
It provides for medical care and rehabilitation for employees who are injured on the job or contract a work-related ailment. California Workers’ comp also covers a portion of an employee’s lost wages and disability benefits. It further provides death benefits for the dependents of employees killed in work-related accidents. In cases where the employee dies because of the injury, the insurer pays death benefits to the worker’s dependents.
Not all businesses need workers’ compensation insurance, such as sole proprietors or partnerships. Employees paid by commission for their work also are not eligible for a compensation insurance benefit. However, uninsured contractors and subcontractors are considered as the employee of the company they are working for. Special provisions must be made if employees work outside the state or out of the country.
The current Workers’ compensation laws are comprehensive and beneficial for workers who incur workplace injury or illness. The worker gets benefits such as medical expenses, lost wages, vocational rehabilitation, including death benefits. Purchasing for their employees a workers’ compensation insurance is beneficial for the employer because, in the absence of the California workers’ comp insurance, the employer would have to not only pay for these expenditures out of his pocket but also pay additional penalties to the state for not having the insurance.
Unlike other insurances, workers’ compensation insurance has no upper limit set for its primary coverage. Only in the instance of Part Two coverage, is there a dollar limit of the insurance payment, based on employers’ liability. Part One is the insurance’s response to the employers’ statutory workers’ compensation liability and has no set limit.
The workers’ compensation rates are classified and coded based on the jobs class. For example, an administrative assistant or a clerk is classified in the job class code 8010 and for every $100 of annual payroll paid, Workers Compensation average insurance rate is $2.00 per $100 of payroll. In the case of higher risk occupational classes like construction workers, the claims rate and cost are higher. There are hundreds of class codes for every type of job occupation.
In a workers’ compensation case, there is no party at fault. However, if the worker is intoxicated or has intentions to self-injure then the worker loses their claim of worker’s compensation. Also, punitive damages for negligence are not part of worker’s compensation. In cases of dispute, when the business is arguing that the case is not a work-related injury, the worker is eligible for benefits in the meantime. However, the payments made under the Disability program in such cases will later be subtracted from the workers’ compensation payment.
For more information, click here.